Daily Edition No. 14 Wednesday, September 16, 2026 · Updated 07:44 Gulf thesaudi.info A MEFILES title

saudi.info

Politics · Economics · Power · Read from Riyadh, not about it

Hormuz & Security · The Red Sea Front

Yemen, Bab al-Mandab and the Yanbu bypass · the second strait that decides whether the first one matters.

The Southern Front

125,000 Displaced in Two Weeks, 117 Civilians Dead in Six, and a Security Council Summoned by Paris: The Humanitarian Ledger Is Being Written by Agencies Riyadh Does Not Control, and It Will Be the Text Any Saudi Campaign Is Judged Against

OCHA counts at least 18,000 households displaced since September 1, Save the Children 117 civilians killed from August 1 to September 9 including 19 children, Human Rights Watch says three Houthi attacks on merchant ships may be war crimes, France called an emergency Security Council meeting, Qatar warned a closed Bab al-Mandab would be "catastrophic for the entire world," and the government's forces claim ground in Taiz and Marib.

The war in four countsEach figure from a different agency, for a different period
125,000
People displaced since the start of September, at least 18,000 households, per UN OCHA
117
Civilians killed from August 1 to September 9, including 19 children, per Save the Children; 43 children killed or wounded in the first week of September, its highest weekly toll in a year
500+
Deaths in the last week counted by the WHO, up from nearly 200 the week before, unchanged from Monday
3
Houthi attacks on commercial vessels between July 20 and August 24 that Human Rights Watch says could amount to war crimes
OCHA per Al Jazeera (Sep 15); Save the Children and WHO per AP (Sep 15); HRW per PBS carrying AP (Sep 15). Four agencies, four windows and four definitions; none of the figures is comparable with another, and none is broken down by the side responsible.

The counting has moved to institutions. OCHA warned that hostilities have displaced at least 18,000 households, or 125,000 people, since the start of the month and are "putting already stretched humanitarian operations under growing pressure," per Al Jazeera. Save the Children said at least 117 civilians were killed between August 1 and September 9, including 19 children, and that 43 children were killed or wounded in the first week of September, the highest weekly figure it has recorded in a year; its Yemen director Rishana Haniffa said "children are once again paying the highest price for some of the most severe violence the country has seen in years," per AP. Human Rights Watch said on Tuesday that at least three Houthi attacks on commercial vessels in the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden between July 20 and August 24 could amount to war crimes, per PBS carrying AP. France requested an emergency Security Council meeting for Tuesday afternoon, two French diplomats told Reuters, and the Guardian reports the session heard repeated calls for Houthi restraint; Qatar's Ibrahim al-Hashmi told reporters "the world is suffering enough with the closure of the strait of Hormuz, so we cannot also afford to add the Bab al-Mandab into that equation."

The ground war is contested by claim. Yemen's recognised government said on Monday that it advanced in Taiz after retaking positions and struck Houthi fighters and equipment in Dhubab and al-Khokha on the coast, per Al Jazeera, which could not verify battlefield claims; Al Arabiya, via Iran International, reports government aircraft hit Houthi depots in al-Jubah and below Mount Haylan in Marib and that an infiltration at Harib was repelled. The Houthis' own account is 54 Saudi raids in 24 hours and three dead in Taiz. AP notes the fuel shortage inside Yemen is slowing families trying to cross to Djibouti. The UAE, AP adds, has withdrawn from the coalition after clashes between its Yemeni allies and Riyadh's. Whether the government intends to hold a line north of Hanish, the observable Edition 13 set, is not established; the only named positions are the ones it says it retook.

Assessment

The judgment is that the Security Council, Save the Children and OCHA have between them fixed the frame in which the coming Saudi campaign will be read, and it is a humanitarian frame, not a freedom-of-navigation one: Paris summoned the Council, Doha spoke about the strait, and the agencies spoke about children. That is the 2015 problem returning before the 2026 war has been named. Riyadh's answer, the Mecca drone, arrived in the same 24 hours and is the counter-frame, which is why the coalition led with it. The observable is whether the Council issues a presidential statement or resolution that names the Houthis as the party blocking Bab al-Mandab, and whether OCHA's next displacement figure crosses 150,000.

The Royal Court

Decisions, diplomacy and the alliances that carry them · read as a system, not as ceremony.

Cairo, Named

The Crown Prince Gets the Words "Bab al-Mandab" Out of Cairo and "Unwavering" Out of Sisi, and Nothing Else: Egypt Has Given Riyadh the Arab Cover for a Campaign Without the Troops for One

The Crown Prince said he and President Sisi confirmed "their shared commitment to ensuring freedom and security of maritime navigation" in the Red Sea and Bab al-Mandab, the presidency spoke of "Egypt's unwavering position in supporting Saudi Arabia," neither side gave a next step, and the same day Rubio called Muscat, Fidan spoke in Baku and Qatar kept trying to revive the Iran meeting Riyadh had stopped.

Tuesday's diplomacy, by capitalFive contacts in one day, ordered by publication
Fidan, Baku Sep 15 · Iran Intl MBS and Sisi Sep 15 · AP Rubio, Albusaidi Sep 15 · Guardian Security Council Sep 15 · Guardian OIC statement Sep 16 · Guardian
Fidan per Iran International (Sep 15); Cairo per AP (Sep 15); Rubio's call and the Council session per the Guardian (Sep 15); OIC per the Guardian (Sep 16). Not to scale. The Rubio call is reported as US concern that Oman "will cede excessive control" to Iran; no State Department readout was fetched.

Cairo delivered vocabulary. Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman met President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi on Tuesday with a delegation that included Prince Faisal bin Farhan, per Al Jazeera, and said in a statement that the two had confirmed "their shared commitment to ensuring freedom and security of maritime navigation" in the Red Sea and the Bab al-Mandab Strait; the presidency's statement expressed "Egypt's unwavering position in supporting Saudi Arabia," per AP. "Neither side gave firm details on any future steps," AP reports, and adds that Egypt is unlikely to offer military help. H.A. Hellyer of the Center for American Progress told AP: "I don't think MBS wants troops from Cairo, which he knows would be a very difficult ask"; what Cairo can supply is political backing among Arab states "for whatever steps they take against the Houthis," and Hellyer notes the 2015 coalition "largely fell apart years ago because of infighting and factionalism," so "MBS is keenly aware of this and will be trying to make it clear there is a much better plan for going forward." The readout names the Red Sea and Bab al-Mandab, which resolves the observable Edition 13 set; it does not name Sumed.

The Hormuz track ran in parallel and without Riyadh. The Guardian reports that Qatar "is still trying to revive" the postponed Iran-GCC meeting in Oman, delayed "at the insistence of Saudi Arabia" over the Houthi attacks, and that Secretary Rubio spoke to Badr Albusaidi on Tuesday "amid US concern that Oman will cede excessive control of the waterway to Iran." Iran's Abbas Araghchi went to Beijing to discuss a Chinese role; Hakan Fidan, in Baku, said reciprocal attacks in the Gulf "must stop immediately" and called for freedom of passage and restoration of the pre-war situation, per Iran International. Whether Iran and Oman have published their finalised text, and whether Riyadh has answered Baqaei's claim that it asked for the postponement, is not established.

Assessment

The judgment is that Cairo gave the Kingdom exactly what it went for and no more: an Arab state with a Red Sea coast, a canal and a pipeline putting "Bab al-Mandab" into a joint statement, which is the sentence Riyadh needs on the record before it strikes and the sentence Doha and Muscat have avoided. The absence of a next step is the point, since Egypt's utility is as a convener, not a combatant. The Hormuz track is the cost: while the Crown Prince was in Cairo, Washington was calling Muscat directly about a route regime Riyadh has frozen but not replaced, and Tehran was in Beijing. The observable is whether Egypt calls an Arab League ministerial on the Red Sea this week, and whether the Rubio-Albusaidi call produces a State Department readout that mentions Saudi Arabia.

The Guarantors

Eight Chiefs at a German Ski Resort, an Israeli Channel Run Through CENTCOM, and British Advisers on Offer: The Help Riyadh Is Getting Comes From the Two Partners It Cannot Name and the One It Did Not Sign a Pact With

CENTCOM confirmed it hosted the military chiefs of eight nations in Germany last week, Israeli officials told Axios that Israel and Saudi Arabia are discussing through CENTCOM how Jerusalem could help against the Houthis without offensive action, Bloomberg reports Riyadh asked London for operational support and Burnham is understood to have agreed to send advisers, and a Turkish official says the Mecca pact is simply not operational.

Who is helping, and howFour partners, four instruments, Tuesday's reporting
8
Nations whose military chiefs CENTCOM hosted at a "scheduled conference in Germany" last week: the US, Israel, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Jordan and Egypt, per Axios
No
Trump's answer to the Crown Prince's request for direct US strikes, per US officials to Axios; intelligence and targeting support offered instead
Advisers
What Prime Minister Burnham is understood to have agreed to send, per Bloomberg, after Riyadh requested operational support
0
Mecca Joint Defence Agreement partners that have come to Riyadh's aid; a Turkish official says the pact "has not yet become operational"
Germany meeting per Axios via the Times of Israel (Sep 15), with CENTCOM's confirmation quoted; Trump's refusal per Axios via Alhurra (Sep 15); British position per Bloomberg via Middle East Eye (Sep 15); Turkish official per Middle East Eye (Sep 15). Axios lists nine countries where CENTCOM says eight; the discrepancy is not resolved in either text. The British decision is "understood," not announced.

The most consequential meeting of the week was one nobody announced. Two Israeli officials told Axios that the military chiefs of Israel, the United States, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Jordan and Egypt met last week at a secluded ski resort in Germany, convened by Admiral Brad Cooper, the first such gathering since the war on Iran began in February; CENTCOM confirmed to Axios that it "hosted senior military leaders from eight nations during a scheduled conference in Germany" to discuss "opportunities for enhancing security cooperation in the Middle East," per the Times of Israel. Lt. Gen. Eyal Zamir briefed on IDF operations; Cooper said US forces would not withdraw from the region despite Iranian attacks on American bases and briefed plans to expand Hormuz traffic. A source told Axios that Israel and Saudi Arabia, with CENTCOM's assistance, "are discussing ways Jerusalem could assist Riyadh in confronting Houthi advances toward the Bab el-Mandeb Strait," and that offensive Israeli action is unlikely; Israel Hayom reported earlier on Tuesday that CENTCOM has been overseeing the contacts. The IDF declined to comment.

The named partners are slower. Bloomberg, via Middle East Eye, reports that Saudi Arabia asked Andy Burnham's government for operational support to repel the Houthi push toward Bab al-Mandab and to defend against Houthi strikes, that Burnham has been advised of the energy-price consequences of a Houthi-held strait, and that he "is understood to have agreed to send British military advisors to Saudi Arabia"; Foreign Secretary Ed Miliband told Prince Faisal on Saturday that "the UK stands firmly with Saudi Arabia and the internationally recognised government of Yemen." The Guardian's reading is that London "is unlikely to offer direct military, as opposed to political, support" without a clear instruction from Washington, and that western help is intelligence, targeting advice and work on integrating the anti-Houthi forces. On the Mecca agreement, a Turkish official told Middle East Eye it "has not yet become operational"; retired Lt. Gen. Tariq Khan told Al Jazeera the mutual-defence clause is "unworkable at this point in time"; former US diplomat Alberto Fernandez told Iran International the pact "has turned out to be a paper tiger." That resolves the British observable Edition 13 carried for three days; a formal Saudi request to Islamabad is still not established.

Assessment

The judgment is that the Kingdom's real security architecture in this war is the one that meets in Germany without a communique, not the one signed in Mecca with a ceremony: CENTCOM is the switchboard, Israel is on the line, and the Gulf chiefs are in the room with the IDF chief of staff while their foreign ministers postpone a meeting with Iran. That is a fact about instruments, not intentions, and Riyadh will deny none of it and confirm none of it. British advisers are the first named Western boots since the crisis began, if Bloomberg's "understood" holds, and they matter less for what they do than for what they license the next partner to do. The observable is whether CENTCOM or the Israeli government confirms the Saudi channel by name, and whether Downing Street or the Ministry of Defence puts the adviser deployment on the record.

Oil & Energy

The barrel as instrument · OSPs, OPEC+, capacity and the price of a closed strait.

Yanbu Closed, Ras Tanura Open

Loadings Suspended at Yanbu, September Cargoes to Europe Cancelled, 22 Million Barrels Out of Ras Tanura in a Week: The Kingdom Is Quietly Exporting Through the Strait It Says Is Closed, and the Market Paid $122 for a Dated Cargo to Learn It

Trade sources told Reuters that Aramco has informed European customers some September-loading cargoes are cancelled and that Yanbu loadings are suspended; Vortexa counts 12 vessels and 22 million barrels loaded at Ras Tanura and Juaymah in the week of September 7 to 13 against six to seven vessels a week before; Brent settled more than $3 higher on Tuesday at its highest since May 19 and gave back 93 cents to $107.82 by Wednesday dawn after a 7.1 million barrel US crude build.

Three prices for one barrelDollars a barrel, Tuesday to Wednesday
Wednesday, 00:28 GMT, Brent futures
107.82
Tuesday settlement, implied
~108.75
Dated Brent, physical, Tuesday
~122
Wednesday print and the 93-cent fall per Reuters (Sep 16); dated Brent "around $122" per LSEG data via Reuters (Sep 15). Bars scaled 0 to 130. The Tuesday settlement is derived by adding Reuters' stated fall to the Wednesday print and was not printed by Reuters, which said only "more than $3 higher"; the dated figure is a Tuesday intraday assessment, not a close.

The Red Sea door is shut and the Gulf door is ajar. Oil trading and shipping sources told Reuters on Tuesday that Saudi Arabia has informed European customers that some September-loading cargoes will be cancelled and that loadings at Yanbu have been suspended; Aramco declined to comment, and Reuters could not determine how many cargoes or for how long. Poland's Orlen, which takes about 40 percent of its crude from Aramco and whose Gdansk terminal received about 160,000 barrels a day of Saudi crude this year per Kpler, bought North Sea grades including Grane, Johan Sverdrup and Johan Castberg in spot tenders on Friday and Monday, tendered for WTI Midland and CPC Blend, and issued a further tender on Tuesday for North Sea or Algerian crude for October and Guyanese for November, five industry sources said; Orlen called it "a standard, ongoing part of the Orlen Group's operations." The physical market priced the loss ahead of the futures market: dated Brent was around $122 on LSEG data while futures traded near $108.

The substitute route is the one the Kingdom does not advertise. Trading sources told Reuters the cut will push Saudi Arabia "to try to export more oil via the Strait of Hormuz using so-called dark shipments similar to those already used by the United Arab Emirates and Iraq," a channel that has allowed Gulf producers to export 7 million to 9 million barrels a day, 30 to 40 percent of pre-war volumes; Vortexa's count of 22 million barrels across 12 vessels at Ras Tanura and Juaymah in the week to September 13, against six to seven vessels a week for the prior three weeks, says the pivot began before the pipeline was hit. Wright told CNBC that Riyadh "is taking steps to move more oil out of the Strait of Hormuz with assistance from the U.S. military." The public count runs the other way: only four commodity vessels crossed Hormuz on Monday, down from 10 on Sunday, per preliminary Kpler data via Reuters, a figure that excludes ships with transponders off, which is precisely the category the trade sources describe. Futures fell 0.86 percent to $107.82 by 00:28 GMT Wednesday after API data showed US crude stocks up 7.1 million barrels in the week to September 11 against an expected 1.6 million draw, a build Haitong Futures said "does not change the underlying tightness."

Assessment

The judgment is that the Kingdom's export policy this week is a deliberate contradiction: it declares the strait closed for diplomatic purposes and loads through it for fiscal ones, with US military assistance Wright has now acknowledged in public. That is rational, since every dark cargo out of Ras Tanura is a cargo that does not need Yanbu, but it has two costs, a physical premium of about $14 over futures that European refiners are paying to replace Saudi barrels, and an Iranian narrative that every Saudi tanker through Hormuz is transiting on Tehran's sufferance. The $108 to $122 gap between paper and cargo is the truest measure of the outage. The observable is next week's Vortexa count at Ras Tanura against 12 vessels, and the first named Saudi-linked tanker reported through Hormuz by UKMTO or JMIC.

The Economy

SAMA, GASTAT, the budget and the giga-projects · the balance sheet behind the statecraft.

Cabinet in Wartime

Thirteen Initiatives, 500,000 Jobs and a 35 Percent Target: With Sirens in Six Regions, the Cabinet Passed an SME Strategy and a Jeddah Forum Promised Three Years of Insulin Stock, and Both Are Statements About Who the State Expects to Be Standing in 2030

The Cabinet, chaired by the Crown Prince, approved a national strategy for small and medium enterprises on Tuesday that Commerce Minister Majid al-Qasabi says targets 35 percent of GDP and more than 500,000 jobs through 13 initiatives, including a sector-by-sector review of minimum Saudization; at the Saudi Industry Forum in Jeddah, Sudair Pharma set 2027 for an insulin plant with a three-year stock of active ingredients.

The SME strategy in four figuresTargets and the base they start from
1.83m
SMEs registered at the end of the second quarter of 2026, per Monsha'at deputy governor Saud al-Subhan
35%
Target share of GDP for SMEs by 2030, the Vision 2030 figure, per al-Qasabi
13
Initiatives, addressing 12 priority challenges identified by a sector assessment
500k+
Direct and indirect jobs the strategy aims to create by 2030
All figures per Asharq Al-Awsat (Sep 15). The current SME share of GDP is not stated in the report; the jobs figure is a target with no baseline or annual path; the Cabinet decision text itself was not fetched.

The Cabinet met on the schedule the war has not changed. At a session chaired by the Crown Prince on Tuesday it approved a national strategy for small and medium enterprises, per Asharq Al-Awsat. Commerce Minister Majid al-Qasabi, who chairs Monsha'at, said the goal is to raise SMEs' share of GDP to 35 percent in line with Vision 2030, create more than 500,000 direct and indirect jobs and place the Kingdom first in the Entrepreneurial Skills and Knowledge Index by 2030, through 13 initiatives that improve access to finance and markets, strengthen operational readiness, develop the regulatory and innovation environment and ease doing business. Monsha'at's Saud al-Subhan told the paper the SME count passed 1.83 million by the end of the second quarter and that the strategy shifts the emphasis "away from focusing primarily on the number of businesses toward sustainable growth, higher productivity, and greater capacity to scale up." The assessment behind it names 12 priority challenges: weak commercialisation of innovation, a fear of failure, a shortage of specialised talent, weak infrastructure and purchasing power in outlying regions, high and unpredictable costs, limited finance, a shortage of market data, talent lost to large companies and the state, and weak manufacturing supply chains. The initiatives include more SME participation in government procurement and large-company purchasing, a sector database, incentives for SME lenders, attracting foreign startups, and "reviewing minimum Saudization requirements by sector."

Jeddah supplied the industrial version. At the Saudi Industry Forum, Sudair Pharma chief executive Yasser Alobaidaa said the company will begin producing insulin locally in 2027 at a plant costing more than 280 million riyals, covering every stage of manufacturing rather than fill-and-finish, and will hold a three-year stock of active pharmaceutical ingredients so production continues if foreign supply is cut; NUPCO's Fahd al-Bat'hi said the state purchaser is at the final stage of deploying AI to forecast shortages, works with the SFDA through a committee that meets almost weekly, and targets a three-month inventory of non-life-saving items, per Asharq Al-Awsat. Whether the Cabinet session addressed the pipeline, Yanbu or the Houthi attacks is not stated in the report.

Assessment

The judgment is that the two Tuesday texts are the domestic front of the same war: a Cabinet that approves a 2030 jobs strategy on the day sirens sound in Jeddah is telling investors and citizens that the planning horizon has not moved, and a pharmaceutical purchaser that talks about three-year API stocks and weekly shortage committees is telling them why it might. The Saudization review is the line to watch, because it is the first official signal in this strategy that the state is prepared to trade quota rigidity for SME growth. The observable is whether Monsha'at publishes the current SME share of GDP against the 35 percent target, and whether the Ministry of Human Resources issues the sector-level Saudization review before the fourth quarter.

The Fund's Machine

380 Billion Arabic Words, 43 AI Tools Inside the Fund and Three Million Hours Saved: PIF Publishes Its Own AI Ledger on the Eve of a Fed Decision the Market Expects to Be a Hike, and the Two Numbers That Matter Most Are the Ones It Left Out

SPA's account of the PIF-led AI build, carried by Zawya, lists HUMAIN's ALLaM model, a $3 billion Blackstone investment and a claimed 6-gigawatt data centre alongside 43 AI solutions, 15 agents and 1,500 automated processes inside the fund; it gives no capital committed to HUMAIN, no revenue and no date for the 6 gigawatts, while Reuters says traders expect the Fed to deliver "the first of what could be several" hikes on Wednesday, a decision SAMA must match within the hour.

The fund's internal AI count, 2025Figures PIF reports about its own operations
Manual processes automated
1,500+
Applications deployed
100+
AI solutions activated
43
AI agents in the enterprise workspace
15
All figures per SPA via Zawya (Sep 15). Bars scaled 0 to 2,000, which is why the smaller counts are barely visible; the four measures are not comparable units. The three million working hours saved and the 2,300 users served are self-reported by the fund and unaudited.

The fund published its own scorecard. SPA, via Zawya, reports that PIF anchors its AI strategy on three pillars, global investment to make the Kingdom an innovation hub, AI across its internal operations, and adoption across portfolio companies, and that it established HUMAIN to build data centres, cloud infrastructure and Arabic large language models. The ALLaM model, "built entirely in the Kingdom," was trained on more than 380 billion Arabic words, 394,000 books and 500 billion data units and placed second among Arab-developed Arabic models on the MMLU benchmark as verified by Cohere; HUMAIN Chat, built on it, targets 400 million Arabic speakers. HUMAIN's infrastructure is "supported by a $3 billion investment from Blackstone," runs from Dammam to more than 150 countries, and, the report says, "has established the world's largest AI data center with a capacity of up to 6 gigawatts." Inside the fund, 2025 brought more than 100 applications, 43 AI solutions, 15 agents serving 2,300 users, and more than 1,500 automated processes saving over three million working hours. The report also says the Kingdom ranked first globally in digital governance and cybersecurity indicators and third in AI models, without naming the indices.

The number the fund did not write is the one the market will set on Wednesday. Reuters reports the dollar near multi-week highs "ahead of a Federal Reserve decision where traders expect the first of what could be several U.S. interest rate hikes," and Asian stocks tentative as bond yields and oil paused for it. Under the riyal peg, SAMA matches the Fed in the same hour, which means Saudi borrowing costs will rise on the day the Kingdom's export revenue is being rerouted through Ras Tanura. What the fund's ledger omits is the capital committed to HUMAIN, its revenue, the timetable for the 6 gigawatts, and whether the "world's largest" claim rests on installed or planned capacity; none of that is established from the report.

Assessment

The judgment is that the PIF ledger is a document written for a domestic and Gulf audience on a day when the fund's external numbers, the ones tied to oil revenue and a rising dollar, are moving against it, and that its precision about internal hours saved and imprecision about external capital deployed is the tell. The 6-gigawatt claim is the most ambitious sentence in the report and the least supported; until a date and a phase are attached it should be read as a target. A Fed hike matched by SAMA on Wednesday would be the first tightening of the war, arriving as the fiscal side is losing Yanbu. The observable is SAMA's rate statement within the hour of the Fed, and whether HUMAIN or PIF attaches a phase and a date to the 6 gigawatts.

Watch Tomorrow · saudi.info's Forward Radar

  1. Hormuz & SecurityThe "deterrent measures" al-Malki promised after the Mecca drone, named by place and date, against the coalition's silence on the 54 raids the Houthis count; an OIC emergency session or a statement from Al-Azhar on the Mecca attempt; a Ministry of Energy or Aramco restart estimate, not established for a fifth day, now bracketed by Wright's "days" and Reuters' five to six weeks; whether the recognised government names a line north of Hanish, not established; a Security Council product naming the Houthis at Bab al-Mandab; OCHA's next displacement figure against 125,000; the IMO or Oman naming the Elgaia's cause of damage, after Muscat said it was towed to port with two crew still missing; any Iraqi naming of the group behind the pipeline drones, not established for a fifth day.
  2. The Royal CourtWhether Egypt calls an Arab League ministerial on the Red Sea; a State Department readout of the Rubio-Albusaidi call and whether it mentions Saudi Arabia; whether Iran and Oman publish or register their Hormuz text, or Qatar sets a new date for the postponed meeting; a Saudi comment on Baqaei's claim that Riyadh asked for the postponement, not established for a second day; any confirmation by CENTCOM, the IDF or Riyadh of the Israel-Saudi channel Axios describes; Downing Street or the Ministry of Defence putting British advisers on the record; a Senate Foreign Relations hearing date for Wesley Hunt, not established; a formal Saudi request under the Mecca agreement, or an Islamabad statement beyond "early stage," not established; an SPA readout of Prince Faisal's New Delhi bilaterals, not fetched here; a House Foreign Affairs hearing notice on the 123 Agreement, not established.
  3. Oil & EnergyWednesday's Brent settlement against $107.82 and the implied Tuesday close near $108.75; whether dated Brent holds around $122 or the physical premium narrows; next week's Vortexa count at Ras Tanura and Juaymah against 12 vessels and 22 million barrels; the first Saudi-linked tanker named through Hormuz by UKMTO or JMIC; the next JMIC 72-hour count, not established; Kpler's Hormuz commodity transits against four on Monday; the number of European cargoes cancelled and the duration of the Yanbu suspension, which Reuters could not determine; the OPEC monthly report, still not fetched; the diesel crack, the open-market rial and NCAGS transit windows, not established.
  4. The EconomyThe Fed decision and SAMA's same-hour statement, the first tightening of the war if traders are right; any S&P, Fitch or Moody's comment on the shutdown, not established for a third day; the Saudi war-risk pool's capacity and first policy, not established for a fifth day; Monsha'at's current SME share of GDP against the 35 percent target; the sector-level Saudization review the strategy promises; a phase and date for HUMAIN's 6 gigawatts; a resource statement with a grade for Jabal Sayid, not established; ZATCA's penalty schedule and first substance-return deadline, not established; the Al Rajhi settlement and any PIF or Savvy statement on Electronic Arts, not established for an eighth day; any change to CEER's September 21 date, not established.
saudi.info in your inbox

Get every morning's edition · free

Saudi politics and economics, read from Riyadh, not about it. One edition, every day, dawn Gulf time. Unsubscribe anytime.

We use MailerLite to send the edition. Confirm via the email you'll receive.  ·  Archive: No. 1, Sep 3  ·  No. 3, Sep 5  ·  No. 4, Sep 6  ·  No. 5, Sep 7  ·  No. 7, Sep 9  ·  No. 8, Sep 10  ·  No. 9, Sep 11  ·  No. 10, Sep 12  ·  No. 11, Sep 13  ·  No. 12, Sep 14  ·  No. 13, Sep 15  ·  No. 14, Sep 16